a procedureGluteal fat grafting
also: BBL · Brazilian butt lift · buttock augmentation with fat grafting · gluteal lipofilling · fat transfer to the buttocks
Surgeons write gluteal fat grafting or gluteal lipofilling. Clinics and price pages write BBL, and the marketing name travels better than the operation's own.
Fat is taken by liposuction from the abdomen, flanks or back, processed, and injected into the buttocks to add volume and change shape. Some of the graft is reabsorbed over months, which is why surgeons overfill and why a second session is common. The reported danger is specific and mechanical: fat entering a torn gluteal vein travels to the lungs as a pulmonary fat embolism.
graft here means the patient's own aspirated fat, washed or decanted and re-injected. A graft survives only if it lands where blood can reach it, which is why the plane of injection is the argument in this operation. Trade practice
The story Cited · aserf-gluteal-fat-grafting-2017
In 2017 the Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation put a task force on this operation and published what its survey found. Six hundred and ninety-two surgeons responded out of 4,843 members of two international societies contacted, a 14.3 per cent response rate. They reported 32 fatal pulmonary fat emboli across 198,857 career cases, a career rate of 1 in 6,214, and five fatal emboli in 17,519 cases over the previous twelve months, an annual rate of 1 in 3,448. The same paper reported 103 non-fatal pulmonary fat emboli.
The task force's recommendation was about the plane. Deep intramuscular injection was associated with significantly increased risk; injection into the mid and superficial planes was protective, and the authors urged surgeons to avoid deep muscle injections. The paper's own words about the rate were that it is unacceptably high and that the approach to the procedure must be improved.
Inference -- those rates are what surgeons reported about themselves, in a survey answered by one in seven of the members contacted, and they count deaths known to the operating surgeon. A patient who flies home and dies there is not necessarily in the numerator; a clinic that does not belong to either society is not in the denominator. The figure is the best published one, and it is a floor rather than a measurement of the whole trade.
The operation travels heavily all the same, and the price pages are short. Premier Clinic in Prague prices fat transfer to breasts or buttocks with liposuction of one area from 62,800 koruna. RP Clinic in Warsaw prices a BBL from 25,000 zloty and states the figure covers the whole procedure including post-operative care. The American society publishes 7,264 US dollars as an average surgeon's fee, excluding anaesthesia and the operating room. Yanhee in Bangkok, whose plastic surgery table runs to hundreds of lines, prices buttock implants and a buttock lift and does not list fat grafting at all.
How it works Cited · aserf-gluteal-fat-grafting-2017
General anaesthesia. The harvest is a liposuction, and the volumes are large enough that fluid balance matters. Injection is made with a blunt cannula into the subcutaneous plane above the muscle, under direct control of the tip; the 2017 task force recommendation is against injecting deep to the gluteal muscle. Sitting is restricted for weeks and specialised cushions are sold for the flight home. Graft take is partial and unpredictable, and clinics quote a second session accordingly.
Today Cited
Three published prices sit on this record, from Czechia, Poland and the United States, alongside one published mortality figure from 2017 that the profession itself produced. No national register counts this operation across clinics, so the count of how many are performed each year and where is a gap on this site rather than a number.
Notes
This page describes an operation and reports the published figures on its mortality. It is not advice about having one, or about where.
What it costs where anyone publishes a price
The 3 prices behind this chart
Dollar figures are the published price put through one dated rate table; the published currency and date are in the next columns.
| Country | Kind | US$ | As published | Dated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Czechia | quoted-range | 2,982 | 62,800–74,800 CZK | 2026-09-16 | page |
| Poland | quoted-range | 6,643 | 25,000 PLN | 2026-09-16 | page |
| United States of America | survey | 7,264 | 7,264 USD | 2026-09-16 | page |
Every price this directory has read, for every procedure, sits together on the prices page.
Published prices Cited
Each is a number read off a page on the date named, in the currency the provider bills in. Dollars are that number through one dated rate table.
quoted-range · Prague · Czechia · for Gluteal fat grafting
Includes.
- fat transfer to breasts or buttocks with liposuction of one area, at the bottom of the range
- liposuction of two areas at the top
Excludes.
- not stated on the page
quoted-range · Warsaw · Poland · for Gluteal fat grafting
Includes.
- the whole procedure including post-operative care: consultations, follow-ups, dressing changes and suture removal, in the clinic's own words
Excludes.
- not stated on the page
survey · United States of America · United States of America · for Gluteal fat grafting
Includes.
- surgeon fee only, buttock augmentation with fat grafting
Excludes.
- anesthesia
- operating room facilities
- other related expenses
The particulars
| family | cosmetic |
|---|---|
| setting | day-case |
| anaesthesia | general |
| region | Everywhere |
| mortality per 1000 | 0.29 |
| about those numbers | 0.29 deaths per 1,000 cases is the ASERF task force's annual figure of 1 fatal pulmonary fat embolism per 3,448 cases, from 5 deaths in 17,519 gluteal fat grafting cases reported for the twelve months before the 2017 survey. The population is self-reported by 692 surgeons who answered out of 4,843 members of ISAPS and ASAPS contacted - a 14.3 per cent response rate - so it measures deaths known to responding society members, not deaths in the trade at large. The same survey gives a career rate of 1 in 6,214 across 198,857 cases, which is 0.16 per 1,000, and 103 non-fatal pulmonary fat emboli. (2017) · source |
| links | ASERF task force report, Aesthetic Surgery Journal 2017 · ASPS average surgeon fee, buttock enhancement |
| confidence | high · updated 2026-09-16 |
Not to be confused with
- Liposuction — A BBL is a liposuction plus a graft. A price for one is not a price for the other, and a package that names only the liposuction has priced half the operation.
What it connects to
Pages that point here
Sources
- Report on Mortality from Gluteal Fat Grafting: Recommendations from the ASERF Task Force — Aesthetic Surgery Journal 37(7), July-August 2017; Mofid, Teitelbaum, Suissa, Ramirez-Montanana, Astarita, Mendieta, Singer · link (read 2026-09-16)
- Price List - Plastic Surgery — Premier Clinic, Prague · link (read 2026-09-16)
- Cennik - zabiegi posladkow — RP Clinic, Warsaw · link (read 2026-09-16)
- Buttock Enhancement Cost — American Society of Plastic Surgeons · link (read 2026-09-16)
- Plastic Surgery Prices — Yanhee Hospital, Bangkok · link (read 2026-09-16)
Where it came from: Cited a source named here · Harvested pulled from an open dataset · Trade practice how the trade works, hedged · Inference this project's own reasoning · Field somebody stood there. This record as JSON.